



PRESS RELEASE 168/15 10/04/2015

## Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with Council Implementing Decision 2015/117/CFSP implementing Council Decision 2013/255/CFSP concerning restrictive measures against Syria

On 26 January 2015, the Council adopted Decision 2015/117/CFSP [1] implementing Council Decision 2013/255/CFSP.

On the basis of the new statement of reasons the Decision includes again 3 persons and one entity on the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia\*, Montenegro\*, Iceland+, Serbia\* and Albania\*, the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 27.1.2015 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 20, p. 85.

- \* The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of EFTA and the European Economic Area.

Press office - General Secretariat of the Council

Rue de la Loi 175 - B-1048 BRUSSELS - Tel.: +32 (0)2 281 6319 press@consilium.europa.eu - www.consilium.europa.eu/press