



PRESS RELEASE 623/15 28/07/2015

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures against Syria.

On 22 June 2015, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2015/973^[1] implementing Council Decision 2013/255/CFSP.

The Decision removes one person from the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in Annex I to Decision 2013/255/CFSP.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Serbia* and Albania*, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia align themselves with this Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

^[1] Published on 23.6.2015 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 157, p. 52.

* The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Press office - General Secretariat of the Council Rue de la Loi 175 - B-1048 BRUSSELS - Tel.: +32 (0)2 281 6319 press@consilium.europa.eu - www.consilium.europa.eu/press